New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4

“We thought we saw flowers in the garden moving.   And yet, when we looked again…all was quiet, dark, serene.”

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

On Day 4 , I am still trying out my starting colours.   This time, I want to see if a duller rusty red will work for the flower closer to the lower right corner of the rug.   I want to also do a couple of small motifs in this section so I want each of them to stand out.  

I like my choice of the “yellow-greens”  leaves and stems against the dark background…so I will use a lot of different wools and leftover worms in those colours.

I am getting a good “feel” now for the colours I want to use on this rug so going forward I have this experimental section for my guide.   Other wools I use will now be chosen to go with these.  

I will also work on the Border in this lower right corner and test a couple of ideas here.   Again, choosing a smaller corner section of any rug I start to experiment with gives me an idea of the look of the finished rug.   I can see it in my head as I go along.

I always say that I work on the background as I go (!!!!!) but that is very important to me.   I am excited about getting to my motifs so hooking the background around what I have already done ( especially if the background is mostly one colour)  makes me feel like I am getting closer and closer to another fun motif…!    It is like holding that “motif” in front of me,  just out of reach,  so I hook background like crazy to get to the “prize”!

If I wait to do background until many motifs are hooked, it seems more like work.    

So here is Progress on Day 4…I hope you will try out this “freewheeling” way with rug hooking if you are a person who loves experimenting!!!   Let me know how it works if you try it…!  

Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

ERDay4

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4”

    1. Hi Julia..thank you!
      I.hope your garden is doing wonderfully!!!! I think of you every time I go out and work for a while in my little garden!!! I am excited about this rug and having fun choosing colours and playing with the next motifs!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

