New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5

“It was a time of looking at the sky.   And we almost believed we had wings like 3 birds.”

^^^^^^^^^^^^

The experiment continues on Day 5!   We have a completed flower and a wildly coloured initial…fanciful and quirky.   🙂

I will continue with my filling in of the background today and will begin to looking in my stash for wools for the border.  

This rug will have a large border and I think I will use 2 dull wools!   Now I know that doesn’t sound very exciting but I want the border to “contain” the center without drawing undue attention to itself.   I am thinking about those large paintings with ornate gold frames hanging in museums.   For the  border design, I have simply cut paper templates for a guide and then drawn around them on the backing, making sure that they are just a bit different in shape…rather “soft-edged”…so they look like they are sketched by hand.

Bright gold would be too much…but perhaps a really dull gold.   🙂   We will see if my experiment works.   By trying the colours out on my finished center corner, I can use only a small amount of wool and get a good idea of how the border will work.   I can carefully pull out the wools used if my experiment is a disaster…!!!!!!!

So here is Progress on Day 5…I may add another photo later today if I get more of the background filled in!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂     More background done today in large photo 2!    🙂

ERDay5ERDay5a

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5”

Leave a Reply

