New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 10

“It was a time of wandering in the darkness.   And then we stopped…but the sounds of footsteps continued on so we knew we had not been alone.”

^^^^^^^^^^^^

Worked a lot on the right side border for Day 10.   I am enjoying how the blue-black border background is darker than the blacks and deep blues used in the main part of the rug so it makes the center backgrounds look a bit “dusty”.      🙂

I also like that the plum bottom border background looks better as I fill in the right side black background.   I’m not sure why that is…but I’m glad…!

I like using papercutting for borders because you can do do many things with paper templates.   You can either draw around them carefully, making the border look very neat and precise or you can simply draw around them, in a “sketching” manner and have the motifs a bit different.   I tend to do the sketching way as I like “odd” and precision is not my “thing”!!!!!   (You have gathered that by now!!!!!)

So here is Progress on Day 10…I will do a bit more on this border and then move over to the bottom center, I think.   I am anxious to get to more motifs and less border background…but it all needs to be done!!!!!    

I can also look carefully at the border motifs when I have the piece up on my “viewing board” and see if any of them need “touching up”. 

This one is such fun…I’m having a great time!   I know…I say that every time!!!!        Happy Hooking!   Sunnie     🙂

ERDay10

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 10”

Leave a Reply

