New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 13

“It was a time of contemplating our ties to the earth.   And we wondered what would happen if we untied.”

^^^^^^^^^^

Here we go into Day 13.   

More experiments with symbols and colours.   I am trying out flower colours that fade into the background and some that stand out.   I like to hang up my rug and pin a small strip or little piece of a colour on a flower and see if it works with what I have already hooked.   Sometimes I want a little bit of something that doesn’t really belong (like the little watermelon in the border of one of my Halloween rugs!!!!!!)

Also, when something fades into the background it might disappear when looking at the rug in a dim light or from a certain angle.   I like that.    🙂

The circle motif just popped into my mind…so I substituted it for another flower!   After all, we are working here with dreams and visions and imaginings.   Aren’t we?

Here is Progress on Day 13…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

ERDay13

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

6 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 13”

  1. I love the black background. It kinds of reminds me of my grandmother’s rag rug years ago. She just hooked simple flowers with whatever rags she had but to me it was so beautiful. The flowers were colorful and stood out with the black background.
    You always put a lot of thoughts into your art.
    PS. It’s raining cats and dogs again today.
    Hugs, Julia

    1. Thank you, Julia! I am having fun using several blacks for the background and I like black background rugs too. Also I’m using three blues for the sky part and the blacks make one of the blues look dusty. I like that too!!
      I think you need to hook a rug with raining cats and dogs!!!! …lol…
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

