New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 18

“It was a time of watching flowers grow and search for light.   And we looked for moonlight in the garden…but it was hidden.”

^^^^^^^^^^

Here is Progress on Day 18…!

I have been working more on border…a Lot of border!!!!!!!!!   but finally just Had to hook something else so I did 2 more flowers!!!   🙂

Many of you probably do the same thing…work on your border as you go, especially if it is a large one with repetitive motifs.   Thankfully, I am happy with it and the colours.   The dark burgundy on the bottom and the dark blue-black plaid on the top and sides works for me…and I think it contains all that is going on in the center!

It is a bit difficult working with a wool that is more loosely woven as it tends to ravel in the narrower cuts…but I am happy with the blue-black so it is worth the extra care. 

I also find some symbolism in the border too…so that goes along with the character of this piece.

Yesterday, I was hooking along when another design for a fun Halloween rug popped into my mind!   So, of course, I had to take several hours to draw it and refine the idea!!!   It did make a nice break from “border hooking”.

Now I can’t wait to hook it….!!!   It might be a start for a couple of other seasonal rugs featuring the main characters too.   And I must find a printer for my patterns over here in Vancouver.   So much to do, so little time!!!!!!!

Here are my flowers…I am enjoying the colours and I need to hook another insect too, I think!!!!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

ERDay18

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 18”

Leave a Reply

