New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug/Sept-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 25

Almost there…here is Progress on Day 25.   I was able to finish all the background in the rug center and all the motifs.   Now to finish the last section of border and the rug will be finished…Hooray!!!

As I wrote in the beginning…this rug is 39 x 49 inches.

I’m going to start telling you a bit about the rug so it will be better understood when you see the final picture.   One of the figures is adapted from Greek and Roman statues.   The second figure is an adaptation of a small border motif from ancient Celtic art.   The urns, pedestals and some flowers are adapted from an old woodcut…but the urns with their weeping branches are also found on antique embroidered mourning pictures.

I have sketched some of the flowers, the bugs and other random motifs.   I simply cut out a border motif from copy paper and drew around it.   The border is 5 inches wide.

What does this rug portray?

My first title was “Encounter…or Rendezvous?”   And I thought it would be either two actual living “people” in the garden as seen from the window of a great estate…or two “statues”!   Since what we see in the dark can be deceiving, I could imagine the viewers trying to see just what was going on!    Sometimes a trick of the light or the flutter of something moved by the wind makes us think we see figures moving.   But did they?

In truth, there are several stories that this rug could portray…and I did not have an exact story in my head before beginning to hook.   I thought of other titles…Is this “Energetic” or “Restful”?   Perhaps “Ecstasy” or “Resignation”?    Is it “Enchantment” or “Reality”?   Can we really tell?  

Tomorrow, I should be finished …Day 26…and I will finish the explanation of the rug.     🙂   I wonder if you will see it in the same way I do!!!    …lol…

Here is Day 25…   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

erday25 

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug/Sept-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 25”

  1. The jewel tones really stands out on the dark background. Hurry up… I hope you hook all night because I really want to see this rug even if it’s not finished…. Ahh, I’ll be patient like a good girl and wait till it’s finished.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    1. Finally finished the rug!!! I can’t believe how many stories and ideas seemed to go through my mind while hooking this. It really should be called “What on earth is happening here?” …lol…
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

