Mystery Rug Aug/Sept-“Encounter or Rendezvous?”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 26 Finished!

Hooray…the rug is finished…!   🙂

   This piece started out simply but seemed to take on other stories as I hooked…weaving themselves in and out of the wool. 

The viewers are the “watchers”…we are looking out into the darkness.   Do we see two living beings meeting each other?   One living, the other a statue?   Two statues?   As observers, we are often not sure of what we are seeing…the wind, a flicker of light, something moving in the dark can give us a false impression.  

At first, I had a garden image but the weeping branches and the urns could be a cemetery entrance…yes?    The female figure could be a statue…or she could be a woman weeping (as shown on many embroidered mourning pictures).   And what about the bird-man figure (the Celtic drawing)…could he be a visitor from another world or a person in a costume to hide his identity?   Is he a threat?  

As I hooked the flowers I realized that I had drawn some with bare roots…which means they would soon die.   However, other flowers were happy and safely in the ground.   I remembered the rhyme about magpies when hooking the birds…the 1780 version…”One for sorrow, Two for mirth, Three for a funeral, Four for a birth…” and realized that I had taken three birds from the group of birds on the ancient fragment of textile…so was this a sad occasion?   Of course, the birds look like flying chickens (!!!!)…so that can’t be sad…can it?

Also, the silly red shoes on the bird figure, the happy flowers and insects and the unexpected sweater on the woman don’t seem to suggest something unhappy.  ( I told you I laughed when hooking the woman’s costume because I had intended to do the draped bodice shown on many Greek statues.   I had a thought pop into my head of the “graffiti knitting” people who knit and crochet caps, sweaters, etc to “yarn bomb” statues in courtyards, etc. So I couldn’t resist “yarn bombing” either the woman or the statue which made the rug even sillier!!!!!)

Perhaps, our time of staring into the darkness makes us think we are seeing something fanciful or enchanted when it is really happening behind our own eyes.   Is that an opening to another world where the sky changes under that arched green branch by the bird-man’s wing?  What about those “eyes” down by the bird-man’s feet?    Did we hear a voice in the darkness or was it only the wind?   Even my initials seemed to take on a life of their own!!!    The “S” looks like it is shrinking back away from the “A” which looks like it is aggressively running towards the “S”.   Is this more enchantment?   Are even the initials alive?   …lol…   Or is nothing in this scene alive?

I felt that this rug needed a border…and I chose a large one.   Without the border, the rug seems to me to have less mystery!   The border also has suggestions of life and death, a hedge dying back in Winter but the four green leaves in the corners still showing the promise of life.   Is there life inside the hedge or only life on the outside?   There are gaps in the hedge on the sides, beside the center motifs,  for us to either enter or to leave the center…as we wish.

Because the rug is a riddle, a puzzle… a piece with many hidden meanings it could really be titled “Enigma”!   The viewer can weave the story most pleasing to them…and I enjoyed all of the stories that passed through my mind when hooking this rug.    🙂

Or it could be just a Rug!   🙂

Here is the finished rug on Day 26… first picture without the border:

ernoborder5002erfinished500

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

7 thoughts on “Mystery Rug Aug/Sept-“Encounter or Rendezvous?”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 26 Finished!”

    1. Thank you, Toni…I love doing these experiments because I never know what will finally emerge!!!! Also, so many different thoughts and stories are possible. It’s just fun!!!!! Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  1. Its wonderful! Wow,,, you do amazing rugs! Awesome colors,,,, and style ,,,, one of a kind,,,,, thanks for sharjng,,,,,

    1. Thank you, Elaine. I enjoy the creation so much! And the stories…I think I am still back in my “enchanted fairytale” storybooks from my childhood. With a little older perspective!!!!! …lol… Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

    1. Thank you, Jan…I think I enjoy this type of rug more than any other way of designing. I like not knowing what the final result will be, until I get to the finish! And there are so many twists and turns along the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

