Happy October!-New Rug Projects-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs

Hooray!!!   I do love the cooler Autumn weather…and I love decorating for fall…!   My tree is glowing with colour just outside my front windows!

autumntreelll

I have been taking a rest after my large rug project…just steaming the rug and getting it ready to finish the edges takes a Lot of time!   🙂

However…I am working on a Group of 4 Chairpads that are for Autumn, Winter, Spring and Summer so that I can display them at the proper time on a little antique chair in my front room.   I had done a narrow wall hanging for one of my rooms in Vermont that had similar motifs, so I adapted them for the chairpads and can make patterns of them.

I have hooked the first three and have Summer yet to do.   Also, I am finishing them as I go along!!!!!   …lol…   (I have been doing so much “edge finishing” lately that I am about edged out…!!!)

Another project that I am going to start is doing some small rugs in a 12 x 12 inch format.   I enjoyed doing the 24 x 24 inch rugs that were a challenge on Rug Hooking Daily some years ago.   It helped me look at a design and concentrate on the important things…paring the design down to it’s essentials.   I’m going to try this on the 12 x 12 now.

So in a week or so, I’ll start my 12 x 12 project…but I want to finish my chairpads first.   I’ll post a picture of the Group when they are finished.

Hope everyone is safe and well…my heart goes out to everyone suffering the effects of the wind and water on the East coast.  And others who have lost loved ones.   We feel so helpless when these things happen!

I trust you are gathering lots of beautiful wool to hook in the upcoming months…   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “Happy October!-New Rug Projects-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs”

Leave a Reply

