New Projects Starting Today!-Chairpads, 12 x 12 inch series, More-/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs

Hooray!   Finally getting back to hooking after my large rug (Enigma), House and Yard Work and hanging up more of my rugs in my home Gallery!   

Rugs cover the walls in the hallway, the office room, my workroom, my 2 bathrooms and then only a few in my bedroom and the living-dining-kitchen.   Have now hung 35 rugs!   Whew!   It is great fun to see them…but I am keeping the living area and my bedroom a bit more “peaceful”.   Many of my rugs are fairly large and colourful…so the white, cream, yellow and pink theme in my cottage needs to at least be shown somewhere!!!!!

Here we go on the Chairpads…I finished the Oct-Halloween one on my  entry chair now: halloweenchair and the Winter one for the next Season:wintersnmn500and I’m finishing up Spring!   And when I say “finishing” I mean really doing the edge finishing too!!!!!    🙂

Also, I am starting my first and second 12 x 12  pieces in my series called “Moments and Memories”.   I hope to be able to mount them on a 12 x 12 stretched canvas and frame them with dark stained wood.   However, I may experiment on the finishing of these.   They will be serious, silly, sweet and all the emotions  “moments and memories” evoke.   The first one is “A Moment of Rest”- and the completion of the title will be shown at the finish.   Here is the start:

rest1This format really makes me focus closely on what moment or memory I want to convey…and to remove anything that is not needed.   We will see, in time, if I am successful…!   🙂

I am also starting the next one called “A Moment of Recognition”- so I can work on 2 or 3 of these at once.   Some of them will be especially good for using up leftover woolworms from other projects!!!

I’m excited about doing this because I can hook many things that I’ve wanted to do but really do not have the wall space (!!!!!) and I learned (doing the 24 x 24 pieces) how to strip down and simplify a design.   When I was selling my work (my business in Vermont) it was easier!   After all, I am now hooking these rugs as fun for myself and not what I believe will sell or am asked to do!

So off we go on another adventure…!!!!   Let me know if you are doing a 12 x 12 inch series too.   It would be fun to see how we all handle something this size.  

Hope you all are well and enjoying October!   This year has gone by so fast…It was July and then it was October!   Yeeks!   I better get back to my hooking frame before Christmas is upon us and I have to change the Chairpad to the Silly Snowman!!!!!      Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New Projects Starting Today!-Chairpads, 12 x 12 inch series, More-/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs”

  1. Sounds like a fun adventure!! I am doing a travel collage at the moment from photos of a 2 month cross country road trip, but all on one rug. It would be fun to do something like that on 12×12.

    1. That sounds like a great rug, Toni…!!! Hope you will let us see it when it is finished…!
      A 12 x 12 inch grouping of almost anything (like favourite birds or slogans or faces of relatives…etc.) might be a fun project. Mine will simply be a grouping of things I feel like doing…with no particular theme except the 12 x 12 format. Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

