New Mystery Rug-“FO”-Nov 2-16-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4

Zipping right along…now that I feel better I am almost back to my “hooking” self once again.   You know I am sick when I don’t feel like hooking!!!!!   🙂

I wanted to just explain a little bit about how I do these latest “mystery” rugs for those who are wondering.    My work is becoming more experimental and the designs are more “off the beaten path” to say the least.   Also, my Blog process is a bit different from rugs I’ve hooked here in the past. ..such as commercial patterns I hooked in 2008 & 2010.  

For those not familiar with my work, I used to start at one side of the rug and work to the other , start at the middle and work out or start at the top or bottom and work up or down.   Now, I jump around the rug and do a lot of scribbling and changes as I experiment.    This means that you are all subjected to a somewhat erratic process that drives you nutty (!!!!) but works well for me!!!   🙂

The theme of this rug starts with a sound!   I told you earlier that I have brought together several motifs from the far past and adapted them into a design with my own drawings and papercutting additions.   There will be several interpretations of this design’s meaning.   (why are you not surprised?)   …lol…

I am also experimenting with colour  on this rug and using lots of plaids.   I am  using up leftover woolworms when they work with my chosen colours.   There are 4 plaids in the photo below and the “whitish” part is leftovers.   And you already know that the blue is a plaid for my background.

I am having fun with this one already and we are only four days along…but I say that every time!!!     I do have lots of fun…and that is most important to me. ..especially now that I am a “little old lady”!!!!!!!!!    

Here is Progress on Day 4:   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

foday4

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“FO”-Nov 2-16-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4”

  1. Dear Sunnie, I’m looking forward to following your progress on this one too but it won’t be every day as my time is pretty tight these days.
    I know it will be beautiful just like all your rugs.
    Hugs,
    Julia

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say
    that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.

    After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you
    write again soon!

    1. Thank you, Florene…glad to have you along for this adventure!!!! I am usually not this busy at home with projects but, of course, it is my own fault for scheduling so much at once!!!!!!! 🙂 Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

