New Mystery Rug-“FO”-Nov 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 10

Hope those of you who celebrate Thanksgiving had a great one!   We enjoyed some good family time!   🙂

I had some hooking hours yesterday so I am continuing to work on the right side of my rug.   Even though there is not a great deal of background (so many motifs!!!!!!)…it always  seems to take a lot of  wool…!!!   I talk a lot about making sure that I not only have a more than enough of my main background wool but also that I have several “blending wools” in case I goof up in my assessment…!    So…  I am never worried about having enough background wool to complete any project I do.

I love how these colours are working out…some that stand out and some that blend more into the background.   It is great to use up some blue leftover woolworms too… and I like the added touch the scallops give along the bottom and the right side of the rug.   This blue plaid for the main background is very pleasing to me…it is right from the mill with no overdye necessary!

A bit of yarn is hooked into this one and also a bit of cotton fabric for a few accents.   I rarely use anything but 100% wool…but I am branching out as I do more “collage-style” experimental pieces!

So here is Progress on Day 10…I am actually going along quite quickly on this piece and it would be nice to have it finished by the end of November!   We’ll see if I make that “finish” line.   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

foday10a

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

