Mystery Rug-Nov 2016-“Fish And Owl Arrive With The Leaves At The Trumpet’s Call”/Sunnie/rug hooking/Finished

Well…this week did not go exactly as I planned (!!!!) but I am finally back to my hooking!   🙂

This would be Days 13-14 and I was so close to finishing that I thought I’d do the last border part and show the entire rug today!

I don’t usually share my political views or my pet “peeves” here since this is a rug hooking Blog (!!!)…however, I do have an opinion on this subject and when I designed this piece, I chose to make it a symbol of one of my concerns.   Of course,  it can simply be a hooked rug!!!!!   …lol…

**********************************

This is a design symbolic of our world and the responsibilities to care for it.   The 10th century Angel figure calls us to account with the sound of the trumpet.

As you can see, the fish (water), owl (air), leaves and plants (earth) have arrived right away.   However the total human race has not responded….with only the hand showing up representing the people who not only show us by the way they live their lives but also work tirelessly to remind us of the part we humans play in the care of our world.

I am always amazed at those who feel that we can exploit our planet for short-term gain as long as there is money in it.   If the soil, the water or the air is polluted by their labours, they feel it is alright if it is not in their own back yard.   Common sense tells us that if we continually  make our world a gigantic garbage dump, there will be a price to pay.   

My oldest daughter has always loved the saying, “If we all swept in front of our own doors, the whole world would be clean.”   🙂     

This is a whimsical piece too, not only a serious symbolic one but a funny one!!!   When I first saw the Angel illustrations from that 10th century illuminated manuscript, I had to laugh.   The costumes made me think of the “spare tires” that we complain about when we gain weight…!   I know these are draping folds in a costume but it just struck me funny.

The pictures I saw were in colours of green, orange, blue and yellow…quite bright.   And I have adapted the figure so it is not exactly as the original illustration shows…after all I am not doing a reproduction.   I also saw fun in the owl figure from the 1500’s since the owl is sitting on a very slender  stem that certainly would not hold his weight.   And the Celtic fish is up where the air would  normally be…although the scallops around three sides can be either waves or clouds!   After all…this is an experiment…!!!   

I‘ve had a great time hooking this and also had time to think about the serious side of the piece.   I try to do my part with recycling and caring for my own little place, but I look at my children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren and wonder what kind of world we are passing along to them.

So here is the Finished Rug…right off the frame!!!!   Thank you for visiting  and coming along on this adventure…I appreciate you all…!!!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

foday13finished

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

7 thoughts on “Mystery Rug-Nov 2016-“Fish And Owl Arrive With The Leaves At The Trumpet’s Call”/Sunnie/rug hooking/Finished”

  1. You really added the punch to this beautiful rug. I wonder the same thing as you. We have been made stewart of the earth and we must take good care of it. You have put a lot of deep thoughts in this rug. Well done.
    Hugs, Julia

  2. Hi Sunnie, I was wondering if everything is OK with you since I haven’t heard from you on The Great Deworming Marathon group. You can email me if that’s OK. Hugs, Julia

Leave a Reply

