New 2017 Mystery Rug-“WTTPG”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 2

Got some more done for today’s post… Hooray!     🙂

I am really happy with the motif colours I get to use on this piece so far!!!!!   For me…nothing is more fun than experimenting with wool colours!!!   🙂

And I am happy so far with the background-border colours.   These two are simply mill-dyed plaids right off the bolt.   No overdye!   I got used to using  off-the-bolt plaids and buying hand-dyed wool from others after moving to the West coast into an apartment.   At home in Vermont, I dyed a lot of my own wool…but living in an apartment where a dye mistake could mean paying for a whole new kitchen stopped me there!!!    Yeeks!   (I think I did “marry” some worms but that was it.)

Now, I have a lot of wool so I use mostly what I have with plaid purchases from time to time for backgrounds!!!   I’ll get back into the dye pots again while I’m here in my own home!

Here is the wool I am using for the center background… (to me, it looks “warm”)wpgbackgroundwool

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now the border wool  (to me, it looks “cool”) is shown at the top of my progress on Day 2…you can see how it is hooking up in the border.   Since the plaid had some colours I am using in the design, I thought it might work…!   I’ll be able to tell better after I have done more on the rug and a bit more on the border…we’ll see if I keep it.

……….Happy New Year and Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

wpgday2

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

6 thoughts on “New 2017 Mystery Rug-“WTTPG”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 2”

    1. HI Carole…Joe and I always stayed home on New Year’s Eve and Day!!!! We just enjoyed a quiet transfer of one year to the other. I keep up that tradition. 🙂

      We felt safer off the roads in Vermont, especially if we had a lot of snow. Although most Vermonters know how to drive in snow, there is always one person who decides to drink and drive at high speeds on an icy road…!!!!! …lol…

      I don’t make resolutions…I just have some general plans of what I might like to do…creatively or at home, etc. I do plan to have some more electrical upgrading on my home this year…not a very exciting prospect but I enjoy having my home come more into the present and have less in the past.
      Happy New Year…have a great celebration if you do that on NYEve!!! Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

    1. Hi Annette…You know that Nancy and I still miss you and Brenda…and all our fun times in the Hooking Groups! I am glad that we can keep in touch over the internet. At least you can see what I’ve been up to…and not worry that, at my advanced age, I am out wandering the streets of Vancouver looking for little bundles of wool…!!!!! …lol…
      Happy Hooking…and Happy New Year! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  1. I love the pattern you’re getting with the plaid in the boarder. Enjoy your passion. A great way to finish off the old year. Happy New Year’s Eve.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    1. HI Julia…I am happy with the plaids so far and I like the rather “quiet” transition from the center to the border. After all, if I do more and it doesn’t seem right, I can always take the border out and use it in another rug, pillow, chairpad or mat…! Of course, it would add to my leftover woolworm collection!!!!!! Yeeeks!

      I am looking forward to the De-worming Challenge…it’ll be fun. I have no idea what to do at this point…but it’ll be fun!!!!!!
      Happy New Year and Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

