New 2017 Mystery Rug-“WTTPG”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Days 7-8

I’m hooking right along with this rug and still enjoying the colours I am using!!!  

Today’s photo is of the lower right of the rug…I will post a picture of the rug’s right side tomorrow…because of the length of the rug, you get a small long narrow photo when I try to show the whole section I’ve hooked!!!   The small photos don’t show the motifs very well…so today’s picture is a closer look.

As you know, I do a lot of pinning my rugs up on a “viewing board” and look at them from a distance.   That really helps me when I am choosing colours based upon what I have already hooked.   If I make a mistake in my choice of the next wool, I can see the mistake immediately!!!   Sometimes, up close, everything looks fine…but farther away, the colour might be too bright or fade into the background too much, etc.

I don’t really have a “vision” in my mind of the finished rug when I start…but for me, that’s not necessary!   I like to be surprised at the finish…!      🙂

So here is Progress on days 7-8…I wanted to finish up the part of the rug I was working on over the weekend to make a better picture.   Even with a lot of motifs, there is still a lot of background (!!!!) and the background shows the motifs better than the blank linen.  

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie   🙂

wpgday7

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New 2017 Mystery Rug-“WTTPG”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Days 7-8”

Leave a Reply

