New Mystery Rug 2017-“WTTPG”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 13

Finally got away from background hooking (!!!) and was able to spend some time on more motifs!   Part of the time used on this rug is re-designing and changing things as I go!

Now you might think “She’s so scatterbrained” or “Perhaps her mind is actually going now!” or something else (!!!!)…but I really do have fun designing and adapting a design as I go.   It would be more difficult for me to draw out a design and follow it all the way to the finish without changes.  (Many of us change as we go!)    I say all the time that I like to be surprised when I come to the finish of a rug!   Only rarely do I complete a rug where I can see it in my mind and I follow that vision all the way!   🙂

So here is my Progress on Day 13…I also worked a little on a part of the rug that you can’t see yet.   But most of the time yesterday was spent on the motifs and, as you can see, I will be filling in background again today!!!!!!

Hooray!   Our snow is almost all melted…and life is moving along again outside my house!   Thank goodness I have had rug hooking, reading and old Perry Mason DVD’s (!!!) to keep me company during these last 2 weeks!   And now that we have very little snow, my snow shovel arrived today!!!!   I have a feeling we are going to have an “interesting” year!

Here is Progress on Day 13…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

wpgday13

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug 2017-“WTTPG”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 13”

  1. I’m so glad your snow went away already. I wish ours would disappear.
    Your hooking is so nice and even. I was wondering how you make your patterns for sale if you don’t follow your pattern. I know I didn’t follow exactly my own pattern when I did my Kitten’s paws as I just drew them free hand on my backing.

    I’m still being very busy with the renovations so I didn’t pull a single hoop this week.
    Hugs, Julia

    1. HI Julia! Hope you have some more snow disappearing soon! It was nice to get out yesterday!!!!!! 🙂

      When I make my patterns, I photograph the Finished piece and then print out a black and white and a colour photo from the computer. I draw over the lightened black and white photo with a black marker and then I can get the pattern enlarged at a copy shop.
      If I have a pattern and I have just changed a little bit about it, I will offer the pattern as it is…just noting my changes.
      I am rather in limbo at the moment about getting more patterns printed as I don’t have a copy shop nearby!!!
      However, I may try drawing the patterns myself on something like red dot. With my back, I can’t stand and lean over a light table for long periods of time but I can sit on the floor or at a table and try copying my paper pattern onto a red dot or other grid.
      I am working on my rug here and the 2 small Challenge pieces so I am in a mess not only from that but from waiting until my electrical people can get here for the living-dining room work!!! …lol… Hopefully that work will start soon but I may be living with bookcases in the bathrooms, plastic on the furniture until February!!!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

