New Mystery Rug 2017-“WTTPG”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 14

Well I finally got the top of the rug designed so I could hook on it…!!!!!!   It is always nice to actually Have a design to hook.    🙂

I hadn’t decided what I wanted to do up there when I started and thought I might look at tole painting for ideas.   I changed my mind about 5 times before deciding on using the green as the main colour and accenting with soft colours from the body of the rug.   We’ll see if it works!!!!

I think the pinks on the green swirl look rather like a caterpillar although that was not what was intended..!

After going across the top, I’ll hook more on the right hand border and then work on the lower left of the rug and the left border.

So here is Progress on Day 14…I am really enjoying this piece but it does take time to decide on the placement of greens and pinks, etc.   So I do a lot of “looking and thinking”…!

wpgday14

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

