New Mystery Rug “WTTPG”-2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 15

Hooray!   I actually finished off the center top of the rug!  

This part took a long time, first because I had to design it and second because I used an absolutely beautiful wool for the background that was difficult to hook…!!!!   Almost every loop was inclined to ravel so it was slow going.   I wanted to use it to get rid of it and had just enough wool to complete it with a little creative designing!   🙂

Below is the wool:

topwool

I wanted to have a small transition from the main background plaid to this remnant wool for the upper background.   I am happy with how it looks but weary of the raveling…!!!!!!   But it is used up now!   I had 4 strips left over…that was all.

You can see the transition from the main background under the Welcome sign to the new background above the Welcome in the photo below.

So here is Progress on Day 15… I wanted to use some of the same colours as in the lower part of the rug but add a little difference too.   The Welcome sign and this “decoration” above it reminded me of metalwork art…and looks vaguely “odd”!

Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

wpgday15

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

