New Mystery Rug 2017-“Welcome To The Parrot Gardens”-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 20 FINISHED

Hooray…although I still have to steam and block my rug, the hooking is finished…!    (I still have a bit of “tidying” to do!!!!)    🙂

(the rug is hanging a bit crooked  on my board but you get the idea!!!)

Here is the little Parrot in his new home…the village people named their central garden after him!   He is happily living there and enjoying all that the gardens have to offer…especially all the attention from the residents and visitors!   🙂

I was working on this rug at the time we had our “snow and ice” weather here in the Portland-Vancouver area and the colours made me think of gardens and Springtime!   This area is not prepared for winter events like we’ve had…usually it is rainy in the wintertime.  

We loved the winter snow in Vermont… everyone is prepared for those conditions there.   Unless we had a very difficult storm or “ice event” (we went through one of those!!!!) everything goes along mostly as usual.

So here is the Finished piece on Day 20..

Thank you for visiting and I’ll be resting and getting the house back in order after having the electrical work done (!!!!)   I actually have a couple of ideas for my next hooking project…but I am also finishing up my 3 pieces for the “Inside, Outside, All Around The Town” Challenge on Rug Hooking Daily!!!   Such fun!   Happy Hooking!!!   Sunnie   🙂

wpgardensfinishedday20

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug 2017-“Welcome To The Parrot Gardens”-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 20 FINISHED”

  1. Sunnie, your Welcome To The Parrot Garden is absolutely lovely and feminine. Wow, you’ve been hooking a lot. I know you’ll feel better as soon as the electrical work is done and things returns to normal.

    I’m coming along on My Little Town challenge rug. I’m still using all worms from my stash for the trees and houses but had to cut about 1/3 of dark green for the frame and blue and white for the sky with clouds. I also had to cut a little bit of #3 black to frame the windows and doors for about 4 houses. I’m doing a lot better than I had expected with the limited colors I had.

    We are in a blizzard since this morning and it continues to be nasty outside. Everything is closed today.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    1. Thank you, Julia…because of the background colour limitations I put on myself, the focus on the Parrot’s brighter colours Not the background (!) and the balance of light and dark, etc. this rug was harder for me to do than my usual work! I had to sit back and “look” a lot more!!! But I did have a good time!!!!
      Love your “Town” rug…this is a fun Challenge!!!
      You stay warm and safe while that blizzard is flying around…! Hopefully it will end soon!!!! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

    1. Thank you, Elaine. I really needed the Spring colours while living in a messy house and having the electricians running around the place!!!!! I loved the little Parrot and I think he is content to be in his garden! 🙂

Leave a Reply

