New 2017 Mystery Rug-“A Strange EOTTB”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1

Hooray!   I was finally able to have some time to hook!!!!!   So my new Mystery rug starts today!!!

We’ve been having so much rain this winter that when I have a nice day, I get outside and do “stuff”!!!!!!!   …lol…

I am actually giving you a “start” photo of something you can recognize!!!!!   🙂   Usually you get a little patch of “something” until I get a motif going…but this time I have a little section almost complete.   Just have to hook a bit more background.

Now there is nothing “strange” about this part of the rug…but if you know me at all, you’ll know that there certainly will be something “strange” and silly going on as the rug progresses!

I have chosen to experiment with a group of rather soft colours so I’ve been going through my wool stash looking for very light beiges, grays, greens, creams, mottled and off-white wools that are suitable to be cut into #4 and #5 strips.   I might use a #6 somewhere but I’m using the #5 strips for a lot of the work.   (At least I think I am!!!)   🙂

The brighter colours for motifs I’ll hook in a #3, 4 and maybe #5 cut strips when needed.   I seem to be hooking a lot of “flowers” lately…maybe it is that longing for Spring!!!   Of course, my flowers are not realistic…but “pretend” flowers are flowers just the same in rug hooking!!!

This rug is about 26 x 34 inches…but I’ll decide if I want to keep a border later on.

So here is Progress on Day 1 of  “A Strange EOTTB”…Thank you for coming on the adventure with me…and Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New 2017 Mystery Rug-“A Strange EOTTB”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1”

  1. Sunnie,,, you sure are a prolific hooker!! Wow,, you get alot done,, , need inspiration,, got 3 projects on the go,,, too many,,, I am in a mess! Enjoy ur journey,,,, love ur flowers,,, they always look so bright against the backgrounds,,,,, need to get that look! Enjoy ur posts,,,,

    1. Hi Elaine…I do have fun rug hooking!!! It is always good to sit down and relax with hooking after running around doing house and garden “stuff”. Redecorating and reorganizing always makes me tired although I am glad when I clear out unneeded things and make my other items easier to find!!!! 🙂 This rug will be lighthearted and fun!!!
      Good luck with all your projects!!!!!! Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  2. A great beginning on your new Mystery rug Sunnie. Yes, like elaine said, you are a prolific hooker.
    We have a sunny day today but a storm is on the way for tomorrow.
    Hook away, hook away , Sunnie girl.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    1. I’m hooking and hooking…this one is fun already!!!! 🙂
      We had a beautiful day yesterday…today it has rained all day and it’s cold…! I love your Challenge rug…it is such a nice town…everyone will want to live there!!!!! I’m glad it was a good project for you. 🙂
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

