New 2017 Mystery Rug-“A Strange EOTTB”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 7 and 8

I finally got time to hook more on motifs than just on background!!!!!   🙂

Since I didn’t think a nice picture just showing sections of background would be that interesting to you (!!!!!)…here is a better picture of my Progress on Days 7 and 8.

The idea for this rug started with a little drawing in the border of a manuscript from the 10-12th century and it isn’t even adapted into the rug!   But, like many of my rugs, it started a thought process that led to my design.  

I often am drawn to shapes too…I’ve said that before!   🙂   Sometimes it is just a shape that “speaks” to me…such as the shape of the bottom of a robe, the shape of an arm, or the angle of a neck and head…human or otherwise.   Often, I don’t  even use that actual motif but draw my own design using that shape.   Or it is a colour that I see…I am wondering right now about using a pale-ish green (maybe chartreuse!!!) for a background someday!   Who knows!     …lol…

Anyway…I am off to do more organizing, decorating and hooking today so here is the Progress photo!   Happy Hooking and I hope you all have a very pleasant day today!!!   Sunnie   🙂

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New 2017 Mystery Rug-“A Strange EOTTB”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 7 and 8”

  1. Sunnie, you have a totally different way of approaching a design than me as you experiment on the backing. I need a concrete idea of what I want to design, my problem is drawing what I envision on paper. I may occasionally redraw something on the backing because it’s not working well.

    The blue robe is working well with that background.
    Hugs, Julia

    1. Hi Julia…yes, we are pretty far apart with the way we approach rug hooking (!!!!!!!!!!!), but we enjoy each other’s work…! 🙂
      I think your style is more detailed and thoughtful, with a sense of direction and a path to follow to the finish of the piece!!! You also have an understanding of colour , values and shadow, etc….and where that colour should be placed. And an ability to dye to get the colours you want.
      Your rugs that I have seen over the years all have a charming and tender sense of memory, of family and community relationships (like your “My Little Town”)…and that comes through in your designs. I think of the Challenge rugs that you’ve done over the years and all of them have that warmth and welcome that comes naturally from you!
      You have that idea of what you want the design to be at the beginning…and, as you said, you might change something here and there but you are following your vision!!!

      I think we said in the past that you get into your boat, you know the place you want to go, you have your map and supplies and you pick up your oars and head out in a logical direction. You might slow down or stop along the way at a nice garden along the river or to get something you need, but you know where you are going!!!

      I, on the other hand, get into my boat, have a vague direction in my mind, no maps, maybe forget my oars, have a few supplies but know I will just pick up stuff along the way, misplace my compass, and often end up in a very different place from the vague direction I had at first….!!!!!!!
      We would each have difficulty hooking the way the other one does!!!!!!! …lol… But we both have fun!
      Hugs to you, my friend…!!!!! Sunnie 🙂

      1. Wow Sunnie, you really have a gift of analyzing what you see. Thank you for taking the time to write all this in your response to my comment. I always have difficulty thinking about what I’ll be hooking next unless it comes to me strongly I think that’s why I love challenges because I don’t have to think about what to hook. The only thing I have to worry about is to draw it on paper. I’m not sure what I would call my style but I am beginning to see a style. lol.

        I’ve enjoyed following your rugs progress but I’m not good at guessing the titles. I’m always intrigues at the great reveal.
        Hook on dear friend. Hugs
        Julia

  2. HI Julia…I had been thinking about people’s hooking “styles” when we talked a bit about it on the Great Deworming Group!!! 🙂 And that’s how I see your work…and I always enjoy seeing your designs!

    (I know…my titles of these rugs are always a bit “off the wall”!!!!!!!!! …lol… Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

