New 2017 Mystery Rug-“A Strange EOTTB”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 9

Things are coming together on Day 9…and I’m having fun choosing wools to go with what I have already done.   Also, thinking through possible problems and deciding how I’ll handle them!   🙂

This first little photo shows a problem I have with stems and leaves!  

Since the brown plaid background is more of a “medium” value, I had been using darker green stems on flowers to show up against the background.   However, I needed to use lighter green stems to show up against the figure’s clothing!!!!!  

So I decided to keep the lighter wool because it is More important to me to have the curves of the stems show up against the figure than to have them show up against the background.  I tried adding some dark tiny pieces in the leaves to see if that helps or is just “distracting”!!!    (I can always take them out.)

We will see when the rug is finished if I made the right choice for stems!!!!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..I could have Outlined the stems and leaves that go into the background…but I ask myself if the stems and leaves are the main focus of the rug design!!!!!!!!!   Of course they are Not…!!!    …lol…   So we’ll wait until the rug is close to the finish to see if these areas of stems and leaves ruin the whole rug being light and not dark!!!!!!

So here is Progress on Day 9…   I had not decided what colour I would use for the underneath garment on the figure…so I rummaged through my “small strips” wool and pinned them up to see what would work.   I chose this plaid as it kept the “dark” look of the entire garment but had enough contrast with the “outer robe”.   And it had that green stripe.   I learn a lot by these experiments!!!!!!!    🙂

Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New 2017 Mystery Rug-“A Strange EOTTB”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 9”

  1. This is really coming along nicely and I’m looking forward to seeing the face of this lady in blue… She’s an amazing gardner.
    Hugs, Julia

  2. Wow,,,,, you get alot done!! Love that u show the wools u use! Great backgroumds,,,, love , love ,,, the process,,,, thanks sunnie,,,

Leave a Reply

