New 2017 Mystery Rug-“A Strange EOTTB”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 10

Worked quite a bit today and this rug is such fun!!!!   I know it is a silly idea but I do enjoy silliness and whimsy…I love it in other rug hooker’s rugs too!!!!   🙂

Here is a bit of the story behind this piece.   All of us experience moments when things are unexpected or don’t turn out the way we think they will.   Some moments can change lives, some can put us into a time of sorrow and some can bring us great joy!   And, of course, some moments are really silly!!!   …lol…

I remember a phone call from (I thought…!) my father-in-law.   (from my first marriage)   The voice was right, and he started in talking, without identifying himself, exactly the way my FILaw did,  so when he stopped for breath, I said “Dad, I am not sure what you are talking about.”   And he said, “Honey, I don’t think I’m your Dad!!!”    Turns out he had the wrong number!   🙂

Some moments change your life!   When I went back to college in my 40’s, I took a geography class with Dr. Andress for a basic requirement.   The next year, if I had not changed my mind and stopped at my college campus on a particular day, and if I had not met a student from that geography class who also had not planned to be on campus that day, I probably would not have married my second husband and enjoyed 25 years with a wonderful man!   I am very thankful for that meeting!!!!!   🙂

We all have funny and serious moments!!!   This rug is about having a happy expectation of a  pleasurable meeting and finding that something very odd is going on!   After I started the rug, I also thought of another story that might fit this piece…although that story might be somewhat of a shock!!!!

The different colours in the lower background blend better than they look in the photo with the flash.   They have a more muted look “in person”.

So here is Progress on Day 10…I will wait to do any “tweaking” until the rug is closer to being finished…but I think I am over half finished now!  

Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New 2017 Mystery Rug-“A Strange EOTTB”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 10”

  1. Your approach to rug hooking is always so mysterious. I’m waiting to see what this one is holding back to surprise us. Always fun to follow your progress.
    Hugs,
    Julia

Leave a Reply

