New 2017 Mystery Rug-“A Strange Encounter On TTB”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 15

Oh No!!!   STILL working on more of this????????   …lol…

Remember, silliness takes time!!!   🙂   I promise that when I finish this part, I won’t be doing any more gray and white!!!!!!!

So here’s the scoop…This wall piece, 24 x 32 inches (not adding a border) was inspired by a small troll or gnome climbing up what looked like a beanstalk!  (in a medieval manuscript)

That got me thinking about climbing.   (however, I did not use that illustration in this piece)  

I saw an antique book cover with tulips and that book cover got me thinking about tulips and the houses in European villages with flowers all around their houses, window boxes, etc.

Then I was thinking about a design that might work and as I was looking through my books and online, I saw a very ethereal angel…very delicate and beautiful…but what jumped out at me was the Line of her head and neck!  But I didn’t want a beautiful angel…just the lines of her head and neck!!!!!      That got me thinking about misdirection and unintended consequences…and a funny idea popped into my mind…!

I looked for an idea to complete my “in my head” design and found just what I wanted for inspiration in an antique illustration…!

Now my final design doesn’t look much like the things that inspired me…(!!!!) but mixing them together and experimenting, I found the funny design I put on the backing!

So here is Progress on Day 15…getting closer to the finish…this has been great fun!!!!!!!   Happy Hooking,  Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New 2017 Mystery Rug-“A Strange Encounter On TTB”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 15”

  1. I think the process you use in making your rug(s) is quite unique and intriguing.
    “The Strange Encounter on The Terrace Border”??? haha. Not even close eh?
    Hugs, Julia

    1. Hey…you’re getting closer!!!! 🙂 Actually that Could be a possible title for this rug too…!!! 🙂 It is amazing (given my goofy way of designing these rugs!!!) how close you get to many of the titles!!!!! …lol… We must be related somewhere back in the winds of time! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

