New Mystery Rug 2017-“A Strange Encounter On the Tulip Balcony”-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 16 Finished!

I Finally had some time to hook on my rug and get it finished…!   🙂   Hooray!

“A Strange Encounter On the Tulip Balcony” has a lot of silliness in it (!!!!)…and there are 3 different stories that could be told with the design of this rug!   🙂

My story at first was a case of Misdirection where a young lady running for a Cab shouted out at her new admirer, “I’m on Village Street, just look for  the 3rd floor balcony with the tulips!”, as she rides away.    He is thinking, “I’ll climb up to her balcony and surprise her!”         —Also, at the same time, a very nice Bird lady calls out to two gentlemen birds as she flies by… “I’ll be roosting on the balcony with the Tulips!”   They are thinking, “We’ll fly up to that Balcony and surprise her!”

Unfortunately, both the young lady and the Bird lady forgot that in the Spring, EVERYONE on Village street puts out Tulips on their doorsteps and Every balcony is filled with Tulips and other flowers!   So unless visitors know to look for the painted metal tulips on One building…AND they know which third floor balcony is the one mentioned, they can get confused.

And, of course, the young man and the gentlemen birds were confused…!

The young man is climbing up to the wrong Balcony and the two dapper gentlemen “birds about town” (!!!) have mistakenly visited the wrong Balcony too!   🙂   By her posture and expression, the young lady is thinking “What on earth is going on here?”

One day, as I worked on this and was looking at it from a distance, I got to laughing because another story came to mind.   As we all know, the Stork brings babies (!!!!!!!) and these two birds could be storks, letting the young woman know that her soon-to-be-born baby will be a Boy (by the blue flowers!!!)  

Unfortunately, they are visiting the wrong Balcony because this young lady is NOT expecting!   🙂    She might be thinking, “What kind of a joke is This?”

AND…my Third story would be that this Rug is a celebration of the song “Come Fly With Me” written for Frank Sinatra by composer, Jimmy Van Heusen, with lyrics by Sammy Cahn. (1957)   Check the lyrics and you’ll see it fits almost too well…!!!!!   …lol…

Here we go on Day 16, FINISHED!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie   🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug 2017-“A Strange Encounter On the Tulip Balcony”-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 16 Finished!”

  1. Oh my gosh, this is so silly Sunnie. You should be writing children’s stories. Maybe I told you that before, I can’t remember if I did…. You have such an imagination. My grandkids love silly books, the sillier the better. They love to laugh as dad is reading the silly stories.

    Now that you mention the title I think to myself, Deh… I had the answer right before my eyes as plain as day and i let my silly imagination think the wrong direction, lol. Thinking of using my imagination, I think a song inspired rug would make a good theme for a challenge sometime in the future. It’s a very broad subject that everyone could work on. In songs there are endless possibilities of subjects and seasons etc.
    Your silly rug is beautiful. You could have fooled me with those two storks.
    Have a Happy Easter my a friend.

    1. This one really IS silly…and I had fun hooking it…! …lol… I guess I always think the world needs more silliness from time to time!!!!!!!! 🙂
      You were really close to the title…we must have a connection somewhere!
      I like your idea about the Song theme for a Challenge! It is easy to find a song for just about anything…and that would give us a lot of choices!!!!!!! I like it…! Happy Easter, Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Wow! Thats awesome, sunnie!! You sure are an inspiration,,, and you get sooo much done!! J6st love , love ,, you are an artist!! Loved the stories, too,, , have a wonderful easter,,, looking forward to the next one,,,
    Ps, love the 2 backgrounds behind the tulips at the bottom,,,

    1. Thank you, Elaine. This one is just SO silly…but we might be able to come up with even more silly stories about it…!!!!! …lol… I might hook (or make wooden or soft sculpture) Feet to hang above and to the side of the rug…making bird feet. That would be funny too!!!!! 🙂 Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

