June 2017- 12 x 12 inch mat…”The Rooster and the Rose”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1

Because these are small pieces, there is not much “mystery” about them!!!!!   I will be doing a larger rug later on…but Summertime is great for doing small pieces as there is so much to be done outside!   …lol…

I am finally getting out of the Garden and back into my hooking Room!!  🙂

I said several months ago that I was going to do a number of 12 x 12 inch pieces…moments and memories…and I did 3 of them.   Two mats and 1 pillow.

I am going to do several of this size in the next few months…and the first one is an experiment using a Pendleton plaid wool for the background. (I guess I am still in the garden…this wool hooks up looking like brown dirt…!!!)   I also decided to use a lot of leftover woolworms!

I cut paper out for patterns to trace onto the backing and also found inspiration for the rooster motif from some old fraktur and sampler images.   I first thought I’d use a light background with bright worms for both the rooster and the rose…but then decided to use a lot of leftovers of more unusual shades on that plaid background.   It’s fun sorting through my worms to find softer  colours and trying them out. 

I am also doing a lot of “angles”…and not so many curves!!!!   And…all the new wools I cut are #5 strips.

So here is the piece so far…thank you for visiting me!

Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

7 thoughts on “June 2017- 12 x 12 inch mat…”The Rooster and the Rose”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1”

    1. Hi Carole…I haven’t posted anything but my bright yellow front door (!!!) here on my Blog since the finish of the “Strange Encounter…” rug. Too busy in the garden!!! Just starting a group of 12 x 12 inch mats now. The 3 other 12 x 12’s were done earlier in Oct-Nov 2016. Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

    1. Elaine, hope you are feeling better every day!!! Sometimes it is just feels good to sit and do nothing!!! …lol… I love those times too.
      But I am having fun with this first small piece for this year and I love the “dirt-colour” plaid. I might use it for a larger rug background as it feels very “organic” to me!!! Happy Hooking (and healing!!!) Sunnie 🙂

      1. Thanks sunnie, for yr thoughts! Feeling better , day by day,,,, doing some hooking in between resting,,,, take care, too,,

    1. Hi Julia…I thought I was getting away from “dirt” for awhile…but this “dirt plaid” found me!!!!!! …lol… I really like it and am glad I experimented with it. Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

