2017-June-12 x 12-“The Rooster and the Rose” mat-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4

Hooray!   I accomplished the “rose” for today’s post.   🙂  

The weather has been a bit crazy lately…rain and cold, like the start of Spring days, and then heating up to Summer temps!   I am still running outside for a bit to work, then when the rain starts, I run back into the house.   I still feel like I am living a “cuckoo clock” life!!!!!!!   …lol…

But…I did get some hooking done…and the rose was fun to do!   For those who say they “can’t draw”…for the rose I just cut some paper in a rather angled circle, drew around it on the backing and then added a wavy line around it all.   Then, I just drew a rather “squared off” spiral for the center and hooked it in 3 colours!   That did not take much talent on my part…!!!!!   🙂   And now that the rose is done, those lower “flowers” look even goofier than they did before!!!!!!   (they look a little drunk)

Now I realize that the “bud” does not look like it will turn into a rose of that colour (!!!)   but that, as they say, is another matter altogether!!!!!

Not being a “real” gardener, I don’t know if this is a floribunda or a grandiflora or a hybrid tea rose (well, really a padula!!!!!) but I DO know I did not put any thorns on it.   I am the owner of a garden where some of the roses have been here for a long time.   They are beautiful and some of them have a heavenly fragrance, but they have large and wicked thorns.   The scratches on my hands and arms attest to that…!!!   Even when I put on gloves, the thorns catch me somewhere.     (Roses are sneaky)   🙂

So here is Progress on Day 4…Happy Hooking!   (and watch out for roses!!!!!)   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

5 thoughts on “2017-June-12 x 12-“The Rooster and the Rose” mat-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4”

  1. Sunnie, I like how you made designing a rose so easily. I’m still sporting a thorn prick on my arm from weeding under a rose bush. I always dab some alcohol to prevent infection. Yes some rosebush ate evil with their sharp thorns.

    Your rug is looking very lovely. Smiles & hugs, Julia

    On Wed, Jun 14, 2017 at 12:29 PM, Sunnie Andress and Old Crow Farm now

    1. Hi Julia…I love cutting paper for patterns! Just random shapes sometimes suggest really fun motifs! 🙂 Yes, those roses are sneaky…alcohol is good, I sometimes forget it but usually wash scratches with soap and water anyway!
      Hugs to you…bet your garden and landscaping is looking wonderful, as always!!!!! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

      1. Thanks so much, sunnie,,,,, I am feeling better this week! Much more energy! Thank goodness,,,, thanks so much,,,

Leave a Reply

