NEW-“WWGPH”- Mystery Rug-June 22, 2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1

Well…here we go again!!!!

I was happily working on designs for my next rug (and thinking about more 12 x 12 inch mats ) when the idea for this 24 x 24 inch piece just popped into my mind!!!!    

I needed a dose of silliness and this will do it…!!!    …lol…

It was actually sparked by a couple of dark blue hand-dyed wools and a couple of motifs that I thought would be fun to use!   🙂   The inspiration for this piece is an antique card, a part of a vintage book cover, my own drawings, some paper cutting and a desire to experiment once again with several colour ideas!!!!

I will be starting from left to right with several dark blue solids and plaids and working my way over the rug (and upward too) to the right side being a mix of hand-dyed blues and purples.  

The design has a silly theme and I will be trying to see if I can use some “interesting” colours and not get the colour themes too confusing!!!!   (for me AND for you!!!!!)   🙂

However, as my husband Joe used to say when I announced that we were having an “interesting” experiment for dinner….”Good luck to us both!!!”   🙂   🙂

Here is Progress on Day 1…Happy Hooking, and Happy Summer to everyone!   Sunnie   🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “NEW-“WWGPH”- Mystery Rug-June 22, 2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1”

  1. Nothing silly about those gorgeous colored leaves. They are very beautiful color combinations.
    You always have inspiring ideas.
    I’ve been weeding on my knees all morning and part of the afternoon and got tired of the repetitiveness of pulling weeds instead of hoops. lol…
    Smiles & hugs
    Julia

    1. I am hoping those leaves will “glow” against the dark background…!!! We’ll see! 🙂
      Your garden looks beautiful…bet your knees look a little dirty!!!!! …lol…
      Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

