New June 22, 2017 Mystery Rug- “WWGPH”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 2

This is really fun!!!!!       🙂

I like using the bright colours for the leaves and then figuring out what wool strips to use to fill them in!!!     Yes, I know that those 2 little green leaves don’t “go” with the rest…but I wanted to try little green leaves here and there.   If they don’t work out, I can always change them!!!!!!!!!      After all, rug hooking is very forgiving when you want to make changes.   🙂 

There are little piles of wool all over the hooking room floor now so I can see what wild colours will look good with the blue background!    Also, I can use some leftovers here too.   I am using mostly #4 and #5 cut strips but will throw in (!!) a #3 and a #6 here and there…especially if it is a leftover woolworm. 

I need to be sure the transition from that dark blue to the blue and purple mottled wool works as I go across the rug.   I’ll have to adjust things when I get more motifs and background hooked.   With all the backing showing it is hard to see just what a few strips here and there will actually look like once all is finished.

So here is Progress on Day 2…the heat is starting to rise today so I will do a little outside this morning and then stay inside during the heat of the day and evening.   I can pretend to do a little cleaning, etc….lol…but then tell myself that I am “so tired” from all that exertion and just sit down and hook!!!!!!!!!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New June 22, 2017 Mystery Rug- “WWGPH”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 2”

  1. Hi Sunnie, your little green leaves look like that are missing out on all that colorful festivities but it’s just that they haven’t morphed yet.
    It’s going to rain here I think. Very humid and I’m trying to finish cutting my back lawn before it rains.
    Have a great hooking weekend.
    Smiles & Hugs,
    Julia

    1. If those little green leaves look sad after I get more hooked, I’ll give them a bright colour!!!!!!!! …lol…
      Yep…I’m staying inside…98, 99, 100 degrees are too hot temps for me!!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

