New “WWGPH” Mystery Rug-6/2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 6

I hope you all enjoyed the Holiday long weekend…!!!   🙂

This week did not go as planned (!!!) as too much “life” kept me busy and not hooking!   But I did finally get in some hooking time for today’s post and I am having a lot of fun with this rug!!!

I worked on another section of the rug and got to use some more bright colours!  

I am experimenting with bright and then duller colours as I go from left to right on this piece.   Also experimenting with “focus”…deciding just where the viewer should look first…what is most important…!   With so many bright colours, it can be hard to get the eye to zip right to the most important part of the rug.   So I try to get that part to stand out.   

One of the reasons I enjoy the experimenting so much is that I always learn something in the process.   I keep saying that I like to be surprised at how the rug turns out…and that is true.   I prefer that to knowing exactly where I am going on my hooking journey.   🙂

So here is Progress on Day 6…left hand side of the rug is almost finished.   Just one more motif to show for later on.   These leaves are lots of fun to hook…and I like working with the dark and darker blue wools for the background…!!!!!    I have cut some paper to draw around for the upper border.   I think it will work, but who knows?   (only the Shadow knows!!!)   …lol…

Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New “WWGPH” Mystery Rug-6/2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 6”

  1. It will look spectacular and colorful. I’ve been too busy all week to even look at the rug. I was so worn out that I welcome a damp dreary day today to recuperate and just run errands. All week, I’ve been working at tidying the flowerbeds and also on top of a ladder clipping the top of the neglected spruce hedge and it has been real hard on the back of my legs and my gluteus muscles but today the pain is gone.
    Happy hooking to you.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    1. Wow…I know you have a lot of work outside to do to keep your yard and garden looking so nice!!!! This past week has not followed my plans (!!!)…but I’m just glad to have some time now to hook a bit. 🙂
      Take care of yourself…Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

