New “WWGPH” Mystery Rug-6/2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 8

Today I want to show you what happens when you have an idea that does not work out very well.   🙂      This is why I try out a colour on a small area before going forward with an entire motif, background or border!   That saves a lot of “reverse hooking”!!!!!!!

Also, as you know, sometimes there are optical illusions that you don’t know about until you hook something and then sit back and look at it…  and we all can see that illusion differently.   (If you remember some of the pictures that have two faces looking at each other but there is also a “vase” that can show between them in the dark space.)

To me, this is what happened with my upper border experiment.   I am using the rust colour in other parts of the rug so I tried the rust in the border.   However, I wanted the black curved shapes to stand out to make the border design…and just use the rust as background.   It looked fine up close as I was hooking a small section to try.   But when I sat back to look at it, the rust background was what I saw first…!   And my eye continued to jump between the rust and the black…!

 

Now there may be rugs in which I want the background to jump out at you, but this is not one of them!!!!   🙂

Sometimes, using a brighter colour in the border compliments the brighter colours in the rug…but it did not work this time.   So I looked in my wools for something “bland” that would go in the border background.   After all, if I am wanting the border to contain  and focus on the important center of the rug, it needs to be secondary to the center.

So here is my solution…I kept the rust line between the center and the border and found a lighter blue that echos a similar colour in the mottled center background.   There is still a bit of illusion between the black and the blue but it is less “jumpy” than with the rust.   🙂

Here is Progress on Day 8…and here is the difference in the border colours.    I hope you are having a delightful weekend with lots of summer fun!!!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

1 thought on “New “WWGPH” Mystery Rug-6/2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 8”

  1. I wonder why that is? Maybe it’s because of the warm color on one side and cool color on the other side. What do you think?
    I’m taking the evening off this evening as I’ve been working till dark every day and I’m getting a bit tired and in need of rest so I’m sipping on a nice glass of red Valpolicella wine. Have a great weekend Sunnie.
    Hugs,
    Julia

Leave a Reply

