New Mystery Rug “WWGPH”-6/2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 9

Always enjoy reading your comments about rug hooking or the fiber art and folk art that you do!    Also painting, quilting, collage…etc.   We all learn from each other and tips or advice about you use colours, etc. are always welcome!   🙂

Today is another colour “blooper”!!!   …lol…     I like to show you errors from time to time because if you hook experimentally like I do, then you know that an experiment might not work right…!!!!   🙂

Here is another photo today showing a colour that had unintended consequences!!!   If you notice the “kinda-leaf-like” (a technical term!!!!!!!) motif in the border center, you’ll see that it has a deep, dull wine colour  inside the dark blue veins.   Now that would probably be OK with that rust background…but when I sit back and look at the rug now, the shape and the wine colour (especially at night) it doesn’t look leaf-like at all but more like part of a misshapen basketball…!  🙂

So I will make a change there, even though it is not a very important part of the border.   It looks funny to me so I will do as you probably do with any mistakes you make…change it so it looks better.   I’ll try some bright and some dull colours.

Background is moving more into the mottled purple as I get to the right hand side of the rug.

Here is Progress on Day 9…not a lot of time yesterday to work…and I’m doing more outside work today but should have some hooking time later on…I’ll need the rest…!!!!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug “WWGPH”-6/2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 9”

  1. Hi Sunnie, I see what you mean with the wine colored half leaf. I’m looking forward tp see how you are going to solve the issue.

    Talking about issues, I’ve had issues with Google wanting me to change my blog to Google +. I’ve resisted Google + but now they have made me change my email address . As of this morning I was able to finally migrate all my old emails and contacts on my new account. It means that I haven’t been able to use my blog or read followers ‘ blogs for a few days. I’m so behind and my blog is still not all set up.
    Hugs, Julia

    1. I know what you mean, Julia…when we have to change our address or go into some “new and improved” version of our old one, it can be a real pain!!!!! Is blogspot not operating any more? There seemed to be a very large group of people using blogspot.com.
      Day 10 will show how I solved the border issue!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

