New Mystery Rug starting on September 5th!-TMAMOM-/Sunnie/rughooking/hooked rugs/folk art

I have been trying to decide which rug to do for my next Mystery Rug…and I think I’ve decided…!!!

I have several projects going but I think I’ll have the time now to start a new rug…and I’m excited to do it…!   Of course, there will be more experiments with design, with colour and with focus…but that is the way I like to work…!

This “TMAMOM”  rug will bring together many different elements so we will see if they work together in the final design.

If you like to experiment and/or like a “challenge”, I encourage you to try gathering motifs from several places and putting them together in a design.

For instance, you might try collecting an American folk art image from a Dover book, a free public domain image, part of a border from a medieval manuscript,  a landscape background idea from a European painter in the 1800’s and your own drawings and see what your imagination does with those things!!!!!!

If I don’t change my mind by next week (!!!), I will give you the list of things that I am bringing together for this piece.   Although it won’t be as large, there will be a touch of fantasy about it…like there was in the “Enigma” rug that I enjoyed so much!!!!

I hope you are safe if you are in the path of the wildfires in the West and if you are in the path of the “Harvey” storm.   It is heartbreaking for those who lose everything in just a minute of time.   I’ll see if I can help by contacting the Red Cross. website..I know they need donations.

Stay Safe…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug starting on September 5th!-TMAMOM-/Sunnie/rughooking/hooked rugs/folk art”

  1. Sounds lime fun, sunnie, your rugs are so fun to see!!
    Take care,, thoughts with everyone in the path of fires and floods! Terrible!

  2. Are you had dying your wool yet? I’m looking forward to seeing this new mystery rug. Your stories are always intriguing.
    Stay safe. Hugs, Julia

    1. I may dye some wool myself, Julia, but I have some hand-dyed wool from vendors at our recent hook-ins (I love to support our vendors!!) so I am going to use some of their wool in this experiment…!!!! Can’t wait to start…but I am finishing up some home projects first…so much to do, so little time!!!!!!! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

