New Mystery Rug-“TMAMOM” starts today!…Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 1

Well this last week did not go as planned…!   🙂

I am so sorry to hear about all the floods, the fires and the hardship so many people in our country are going through.   In our own area, a stupid and careless act in the Columbia Gorge area started a terrible fire….meaning that people, homes, livestock and firefighters are all placed at risk.      Although we here in Vancouver are not affected by the blaze, we have been getting the smoke and ash for the last few days.   The air quality is very bad so I have been paying attention to the warnings and staying inside.

I had hoped to start hooking today, but I have “started” getting ready to hook…!   …lol…     I am smiling because I changed my mind about 6 times on this piece and finally ended up with so many changes that it is not what I started with at all…!   But it will be fun!!!!!   🙂

I wanted to use this leftover piece of backing so I sewed some strips to extend it.   Here is the lovely picture!!!!!   Hey, this is the first time I have shown you the whole rug before I start…!!!!!   …lol…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here are some of the wools I will be using…I’m anxious to get the pattern drawn and get started as I want to see how some of these wools hook up!

Let’s hope on Day 2, I get the pattern on the rug and get something hooked!!!!!   I hope you are all safe and well…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“TMAMOM” starts today!…Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 1”

  1. Sure love the colors u will use,!
    Always enjoy seeing how u put these together!! You sure have great color sense!
    Looking forward,,,
    Yikes,,, crazy weather,, and fires,,, oh my, sad, sad,,,
    Take care, sunnie,, that smoke would be awful,,,,

    1. Thank you, Elaine! I always appreciate the encouragement…!!!! 🙂 Yes, the smoke and ash is hard on everyone…I just stay inside and wait it out although we can still get a bit of it, even inside. (And I pay attention to the “advice for the elderly!!!” that we get from time to time!) …lol… Happy Hooking, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Hi Sunnie, Your wool looks so yummy and such lovely colors to work with.

    Like you when I have a small piece of backing left, I sew some wool strips around to extend the size so I can stretch the backing on my frame… It’s about time that I order some more backing as I order from Maine and the Canadian dollar was so low that it made everything so very expensive. The Canadian dollar is climbing making buying US a bit less expensive for us.

    I’m looking forward to seeing your new design.
    Stay safe from danger.
    Hugs, Julia

    1. Thank you, Julia…always appreciate your encouragement, even when I am being awfully silly!!!!!!! …lol…

      This rug won’t be too silly…but still not “normal”. I am staying inside for the most part but we can still feel the irritation in our noses and eyes. But so many are losing everything in fire and floods…I feel so sorry for them.
      I hope all is well with you too…I know how busy this time can be for you!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

