New Mystery Rug-“TMAMOM”-2017/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 2

Hooray…I was able to get my pattern drawn on the backing and start my hooking today!!!!!   🙂   

I am starting at the bottom right but haven’t decided which direction I will head next.   As you know, I don’t decide where I start and end my rug until it is in progress.   I work from any and all directions!   🙂

The short story of this rug will unfold a little later on…but I will tell you that it features a little old man who lives in the city!     However, this is not just any “little old man”!!!!!!!   Ever since he was a child, he liked things to be “different”.   He also has a special gift.   This rug is a part of his story.

I’ll have fun with this one, not only because of the design, but also because I am using a Lot of leftover woolworms from other projects!   🙂   My little worm storage boxes were getting a bit full, so it was time to do another “Great De-worming” (as we say in our Rug Hooking Daily Group)

Although you might be thinking from the picture that this is another “Halloween” Rug, it isn’t…and it doesn’t have anything to do with Seasons, etc.      

(I am giving you a break from Halloween right now, but I know some of you will be shouting “Oh NO…not Again”, when I say that I DO have another fun Halloween rug in mind to do later on!!!!!!)   🙂

So here we go on Day 2…because I don’t colour-plan before starting (I just grab a couple of wools I like and go for it…!)  I will probably change things as I go along if another colour looks better here or there.   You do the same with your art pieces, rugs, quilts, etc. I am sure!

Progress on Day 2 of TMAMOM…Happy Hooking (and please stay safe!)   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“TMAMOM”-2017/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 2”

  1. Sure love those shoes and background, sunnie,,,,
    Its fun looking, likecall ur mats,,,
    Always fun to see the progress,,,
    Thanks,,,

    1. Thanks Elaine…I am having fun and you will be happy that I am using up a Lot of leftovers too!!!! It can qualify for the “Great De-worming group”!!!!!! 🙂 Hope all is well with you and family! Cheers! Sunnie 🙂

  2. Your rug has a great beginning. I love that red in the beautiful brown colors. It’s great that you’re using lots of left over worms.
    I hope the air is a bit clearer today.
    Take care and stay safe.
    Hugs, Julia

Leave a Reply

