New Mystery Rug-“TMAMOM”-2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 3

Today, I had to make a change in clothing!!!  

“Mr M.” did not like what I had started hooking for his knickers!!!!!   …lol…   So, of course, I had to change them.   (There is nothing worse than having your tailor create something hideous for you…and he simply put his foot down and would not wear the item I had started to create…!)

As you know, if you have been with me through several of these latest rugs, you know that I love working with plaids…and this piece is no exception.   However, the plaid I had chosen first for his pants just did not work, so I chose another that was much better. 

I probably have said this before, but plaids are wonderful for clothing as you can use the lighter parts for the garment, the darker parts for shading and the bright parts for accents.   and they all work together.   Feel free to ask questions …I’ll try to answer if I know the answer!!!!!!   🙂

Here is the plaid I chose the second time…I’ll see if I can find the first plaid  to photograph but I was using leftovers first so I’m not sure if I have a larger piece left.

 

When I show the hooked part, I hope you can see the difference in the forward pant leg and the shaded one behind.   When this plaid is hooked, there is not the large difference that shows in the fabric photo here…but there is a difference.   Plaids can really be like having several pieces of wool in colours that, though different, really work well together.   And, if there is a colour that you don’t like in the plaid, just save it for another time.

My characters often have very definite ideas of what they should wear…so I try to satisfy them when I can!   🙂

This rug brings together ideas, inspiration and adaptations from several sources…plus my own drawings.   As you know, I choose images from Dover books, public domain illustrations, ancient art and medieval drawings too.   It is almost like cooking where you bring together lots of ingredients and see if you can make a delightful dish or a tasteless mess!!!!!   …lol…

Let’s hope this does NOT turn out to be “a tasteless mess”!!!!!!!

Here is Progress on Day 3…I’m feeling good about what I have so far…but, of course, I have a lot to do yet…!   Stay safe, everyone, wherever you are!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“TMAMOM”-2017-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/folk art-Day 3”

Leave a Reply

